onthefold

More of THIS

 

 

 

 

 

  I decided to challenge myself to pick my favorite(s) so that I could find the common link between them, and hopefully replicate the situations. These three pieces seem, right now, to be the closest to something that I could call a favorite. 

  The top is a quick painting that I did at a rest stop in either Idaho or Montana… I think it was Idaho. I used acrylics, and I remember the day was really hot and dry, so the paints dried super quickly, forcing me to make quick (hopefully quick = honest) decisions.

  The middle is a collage on panel that I created last Spring/Summer on the Cedar River in Renton. Again, I used acrylics, but I doubt that speed was a factor here… although the quicker drying time allowed for more layering of materials. I really feel that limiting my palette to the wood color of the panel, the colors of the tissue paper, white, black, and clear acrylic had something to do with the success of this piece.

  Finally, the bottom piece is a preliminary sketch I did for a commissioned piece. The clients wanted cobalt blue and a red – orange to compliment their newly remodeled home’s decor, so again, I had a limited color palette. This piece was done on – site as well, but I let myself see the differences in light and shadow… some shapes were very foreign and hard to distinguish, but I like the softness and unassuredness of the painting, given its subject is so rigid. This is a lumber yard/industrial area up in Kenmore.

  I find myself attracted to really ugly, manmade things. I really hope the subjects of my paintings will end up looking like morbid, deformed, unwanted things. I definitely keep the world a little too “pretty” right now, so hopefully my next post will be more HONEST. I don’t know why I am afraid to put my dark, sometimes negative perspective in my art, but I think I should. This post has been helpful. I definitely think I need to paint on – site, with low brow, low pressure materials, and I should definitely not edit the piece after I get it home. THOUGHTS?

AB

 

 

 

 

This entry was written by Sarvey and published on March 9, 2011 at 6:07 am. It’s filed under 8folds artists. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “More of THIS

  1. AB,

    I find it interesting and almost [subconsciously] deliberate that these three “favorites” were all paintings you did with some kind of restriction on time. In light of this, I think that you actually end up satisfying your craving for the unharmonious or unfinished. Though your subjects may lean towards the picturesque as they are landscapes, I don’t find them slipping into what you fear as “too pretty.” In fact, the way that you describe your process for the first two paintings and the haste in which you were forced to complete them further enforces the beauty of your nuances in the paint and materials; the subtle misalignments or distortions in the rendering lend a much less literal (and more profound) meaning to “ugliness” or “starkness.”

    I would be curious to see you apply the same constraints to your oil paintings: perhaps the limit of time and place will allow your artist hand to truly render what your eye receives in one given moment. Don’t let the paint dry before you give it your final brushstroke(s).

    Can’t wait to see more!

    AG

  2. I really love the piece made with ink and collage on plywood. It has such a depth of field and three-dimensionality created with such flat, simple materials. Also it is amazing how sophisticated the color is in that piece by using such restricted materials and without any color mixing.

    The diversity of texture is authentic and looks as though you were looking to solve the problems on the spot, rather than a contrived effort of texture for the sake of adding texture.

    I’m actually kind of blown away by that piece, it has such a strong sense of place and mood. Do you have a photo of that piece you did on Linen canvas board with collage? It would be great to look at those two together.

    DH

Leave a Reply

